Telangana New Districts list

Government of Telangana has taken up the task of Districts reorganization of the existing districts excluding Hyderabad, for better administration and development of the areas comprised therein and for matters connected therewith as per the Telangana Districts Formation Act, 1974 and Telangana District Formation Rules, 2016 Under Section 3 of the said Act the Government may by notification from time to time, for the purposes of Revenue administration, divide the state in such districts, divisions and Mandals and each district shall consist of such Revenue divisions and each Revenue Division shall consist of such Mandals and each Mandal shall consist of such villages and the Government may by notification from time to time specify in this behalf.

Telangana CM KCR directed the State’s Administrative officials to prepare action plan to start functioning in the new districts from August 15th or Dussehra this year.Telangana StatesThe Telangana government after much deliberation, decided that the state would get 17 new districts taking the total number of districts to 27.

The state is divided in to 27 districts covering an area of 114,840 km² (44,340 sq mi). The largest district is Mahaboobnagar and the smallest being Hyderabad.

According to reports, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao had a marathon six-hour meeting to discuss the Cabinet Sub-Committee report on the proposal of new districts.

List of Telangana districts (New & Old):

  1. Manchiryala
  2. Adilabad
  3. Nirmal
  4. Karimnagar
  5. Peddapally
  6. Jagityat
  7. Mahabubabad
  8. Warangal
  9. Hanmakonda
  10. Bhoopal pally
  11. Siddipet
  12. Medak
  13. Sangareddy
  14. Nizamabad
  15. Kamareddy
  16. Nalgonda
  17. Suryapet
  18. Yadadri
  19. Mahaboobnagar
  20. Nagarkarnool
  21. Vanaparthy
  22. Khammam
  23. Kothagudem
  24. Hyderabad (Old)
  25. Vikarabad (Ranga Reddy)
  26. Shamshabad (Ranga Reddy)
  27. Malkajgiri (Ranga Reddy)

Telangana is a state of Republic of India, consisting of the parts carved out of the ten north-western districts of erstwhile state of Andhra Pradesh. The city of Hyderabad would serve as the joint capital of Telangana and the remainder of Andhra Pradesh for ten years.

The state is surrounded in its northwestern and northern directions by Maharashtra. Karnataka encircles the state towards the west and Chhattisgarh lies to its northeastern direction, to the east is Odisha. Most part of the region lies on the Deccan plateau.